Michael D Karos Jr John H Kirk Janet R Meyer Patsy A Clark Dorothy J Schroeder Broncos trample the G-Men, 73-40 Rockets down the Devils, 59-55 Seven new inductees to enter WBHS Sports Hall of Fame Lady Warriors ascend to 13-1 Broncos finish 2nd of 22 teams in Hammer and Anvil Invitational Hedwig Lambert Billie G Walkup Some county offices may be moved G’town Council approves 2017 budget Family doubles in size with adoption Sardinia Mayor looks forward to 2017 2017 Fayetteville Firemen’s Festival set Floyd Newberry Jr Donna F Lang Gene Warren Dwight L Fulton Virginia A O’Neil Anne L Durbin-Thomas Marietta Dunn Charles L Latchford Broncos win ‘Battle of 32’ Lady Broncos claim win over Bethel-Tate Jays top Warriors, fall to Mustangs Lady Warriors claim top spot in SHAC with win over Lynchburg-Clay Broncos buck the Lions, 54-51 James N DeHaas Questions still linger in Stuart explosion New direction for Brittany Stykes case New public safety director now on duty in Brown Co. Fayetteville Mayor anticipates a good year for the village Chamber of Commerce announces awardees Robert Bechdolt Carl E Lindsey Audrey F Maher LeJeune Howser Tammy L Connor Henry C Mayhall Jr Chad Spilker Frank W Kemmeter Jr Wanda J Howard Dorothy Huff Colon C Malott Eastern varsity teams come out on top to capture Brown County Holiday Classic crowns WBHS Army JROTC hosts rifle shooting competition Bronco varsity wrestling team unbeaten at 8-0 Blue Jays finish 1-1 in Ripley Pepsi Classic Mona G Van Vooren Hiram Beardsworth Avery W McCleese Ethel E Long Children learn safety from ‘Officer Phil’ Microchips can help locate lost pets Local GOP plans trip to Washington Three sentenced in common pleas Estel Earhart Roy Stewart Tenacious ‘D’ leads Lady Jays to victory over Blanchester on day one of Ripley Pepsi Classic Fayetteville’s Thompson, Jester earn SWOFCA All-City honors Jays fall to Blanchester on first day of Pepsi Classic Ticket details announced for OHSAA basketball and wrestling state tournaments Jerri K McKenzie Randy D Vaughn Georgetown JR/SR high to have new library Georgetown saw many improvements in 2016 Three sentenced in common pleas court Esther O Brown G-Men go on scoring rampage for 77-41 win over Cardinals Warriors climb to 4-2 with wins over West Union, Lynchburg Rockets top Whiteoak for first win Shirley M Bray Carter Lumber closes in G’town Wenstrup looks forward to 2017 Seven indicted by county grand jury John Ruthven holds pre-Christmas Open House New pet boarding facility now open in Georgetown Denver W Emmons Carl W Liebig Mary L McKinley Blake C Roush Louis A Koewler William D Cornetet Western Brown dedicates Perry Ogden Court Lady Warrior win streak hits 5 Lady Rockets wrap up tough week on the hardwood Barons rally for win over Broncos Georgetown to hire two paid Firefighter/EMT’s Noble receives statewide law enforcement award County helps family in need after house fire Flashing signs banned in G’town historic district ‘Christmas Extravaganza’ at Gaslight Thelma L Ernst Roy L Bruce Ken Leimberger Cathye J Bunthoff Lending a holiday helping hand

Commissioners’ journal

The Brown County Board of Commissioners met in regular session May 27 with the following members present: Daryll Gray, President; Tony Applegate, Member; Barry Woodruff, Member.

Motion moved by Barry Woodruff to approve minutes of previous regular meeting and dispense with the oral reading. Second: Daryll Gray. Tony Applegate, abstains.

Motion moved by Tony Applegate to approve the following bills for payment: A00, County, $21,286.76; H01, Job and Family Services, $4,578.75; S50, Childrens Services, $711; A35, Law Library, $3,338.33; M60, Felony Del. Custody and Care, $15,000; B20, Probate Indigent Guardianship, $93; T30, Prosecutor Indigent Guardianship, $161.63; B10A, Prosecutor DTAC, $235.53; P36, Drug Crime Task Force, $657.71; K01, Auto and Gas, $36,638.62; T10, Community Development and Block Grant, $104. Total: $81,805.33. Second: Barry Woodruff.

Motion moved by Barry Woodruff to accept the resignation of Bradley Z. Schadle, effective June 9, 2015 from the Sheriff’s Office. Second: Tony Applegate.

Motion moved by Tony Applegate to accept the resignation of Pamela Layman, effective May 31, 2015 from the Recorder’s Office. Second: Barry Woodruff.

Motion moved by Barry Woodruff to enter agreement with State of Ohio, Department of Youth Services, and Brown County Board of Commissioners, on behalf of the Brown County Juvenile Court. The State of Ohio will provide the base and variable allocations for each fiscal year for the biennial period beginning July 1, 2015 and ending June 30, 2017. Total Program Costs $450,401.58. (See complete agreement on file.) Second: Tony Applegate.

Motion moved by Tony Applegate to approve the request of Charles Ashmore, Court Administrator, for a supplemental appropriation of unappropriated funds from A00 CGF in the amount of $5,700 and as follows:

$1,200 into 2c20 (Juvenile Supplies); $300 into 2c21 (Equipment); $1,000 into 2c28 (Advertising); $1,200 into 2d3 (Probate Supplies)

As of 4/21/15 bills were processed and 86 percent of these items had been spent for the payment of 2014 bills in combination with 2015 expenditures from the 2015 budget. Second: Barry Woodruff.

Motion moved by Barry Woodruff to enter a memorandum of understanding with Butler County Sheriff, Richard K. Jones, Hamilton, to proceed in a contractual agreement to house Brown County inmates at the Butler County Jail for a fee of $70 per day, due to overcrowding at the Brown County Jail in accordance with O.R.C. Sec. 341.12 and 341.13. (See complete agreement on file.) Second: Tony Applegate.

Motion moved by Tony Applegate to adopt Resolution 05272015-1, regarding roof repairs at the Brown County Health Department. Colliver Construction, Georgetown, submitted the lowest and best bid of $10,890. Second: Barry Woodruff.

Motion moved by Barry Woodruff to adjourn meeting with no further business before the Board May 27. Second: Tony Applegate.

Commissioner Daryll Gray attended the OVRDC Executive Committee Meeting at Waverly with Ray Becraft, Village of Georgetown, May 21.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2016 News Democrat